Home / Featured / BJP meets to select Yeddyurappa successor

BJP meets to select Yeddyurappa successor

Bangalore: Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) legislators Wednesday met to select a successor to outgoing scam-hit chief minister B.S. Yeddyurappa, with two contenders in the race: Lok Sabha member D.V. Sadananda Gowda and Rural Development Minister Jagadish Shettar.

Senior party leaders Rajnath Singh and Arun Jaitley are attending the meeting of the 120-member BJP legislature party.

Yeddyurappa and his supporters are backing Gowda while state BJP chief K. S. Eshwarappa and Lok Sabha member and general secretary H.N. Ananth Kumar and their group are pitching for Shettar.

The 68-year-old Yeddyurappa, BJP’s first chief minister in south India, quit Sunday after Lokayukta N. Santosh Hegde recommended his trial for corruption over illegal mining.

Just ahead of the legislature party meeting, Governor H.R. Bhardwaj accepted Hegde’s recommendation and sanctioned Yeddyurappa’s prosecution.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>