Home / News / Jagan wins two out of nine AP Council seats

Jagan wins two out of nine AP Council seats

Hyderabad(PTI): In a setback to the ruling Congress, former party MP Y S Jagan Mohan Reddy today won two out of nine seats in the elections to Local Authorities’ Constituencies (LAC) of the Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council.

Though his group supposedly won the third seat, the result is marred in a dispute with the victor securing a lead of just one vote. With the result, Jagan has effectively marred the victory prospects of Congress nominee in East Godavari district, letting main Opposition TDP have the last laugh.

Jagan, however, suffered a blow in Sri Potti Sriramulu Nellore district where his group candidate was defeated by Congress. In all, elections were held for nine seats in eight districts on March 21 and counting of votes was taken up this morning.

As per unofficial results available, Congress won three (Srikakulam, Kurnool and SPS Nellore), TDP three (Anantapur, West Godavari and East Godavari), while the independent candidates supported by Jagan won in Kadapa and West Godavari. The Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen had already won the Hyderabad LAC seat unopposed.

One comment

  1. Jai Ho Jaganmohan, demolish the Corrupt Congress from AP. Wipe out Congress would be a great service to Nation. May God keep the SMILE on your face, always winning.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>