Home / News / Jayalalithaa sweeps Tamil Nadu

Jayalalithaa sweeps Tamil Nadu

Chennai: Counting of votes for the 234-member Tamil Nadu Assembly is underway with early trends indicating that the DMK combine is all set to be ousted from power by the AIADMK. Kalaingar’s party coalition is ahead in only 36 seats, while Jayalalithaa and allies are leading in 197 seats.

Conceding the defeat Chief Minister M Karunanidhi has resigned.

Among the key candidates, Chief Minister and DMK chief M Karunanidhi, his som MK Stalin, AIDMK chief J Jaalalithaa and Vijaykant of MDMK are leading in Tiruvarur, Kolathur, Srirangam and Rishivandiyarn constituencies respectively.

KV Thangkabalu, KN Nehru, N Pongalur Palanisamy, MP Saminathan, EV Velu, and MK Vishnu Prasad are trailing behind in Mylapore, Tiruchirappalli (West), Coimbatore South, Madathukulam, Tiruvannamalai and Cheyyar constituencies respectively.

Around 78 percent of the 47 million voters of the state exercised their franchise to decide the fate of 2,748 contestants.

The huge turnout in the elections puzzled the leaders of DMK and AIADMK fronts, with each interpreting it as a trend in their favour.

Both DMK president M Karunanidhi and AIADMK chief Jayalalithaa are understood to have finalised their teams in case they were voted to power.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>