Home / News / Karnataka crisis: High Court to decide rebel MLAs” fate today

Karnataka crisis: High Court to decide rebel MLAs” fate today

Bangalore: The Karnataka High Court will today commence the final hearing on the petition filed by five Independent MLAs challenging their disqualification from the State Assembly.

They were disqualified by Assembly Speaker K G Bopaiah along with eleven BJP MLAs under the provision of the Anti-Defection Law on October 10.

On October 14, the court ruled that the outcome of the trust vote of the B S Yeddyurappa Government would be subject to its final decision on this petition.

The BJP government had won the vote of confidence with 106 members supporting it and the opposition logging 100 votes in a House with an effective strength of 208.

This meant that even if the five independents earned legal reprieve in the case, the government would continue to have the numbers in its favour.

Those BJP MLAs, who were disqualified are: Balachandra Jarkiholi, Belur Gopala Krishna, Anand Asnotikar, Dr Sarvabowma Bagali, V Nagaraju, Raje Kage, Y Sampangi, Nanjundaswamy, S K Bellubbi, H S Shankara Lingegowda and Shivanagouda Naik.

Former Ministers Venkataramanappa, Shivaraj Tangadagi, Goolihatti Sekhar and M P Narendraswamy and independent MLAs were also disqualified.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>