Home / News / KJP will contest all 224 assembly seats: Yeddyurappa

KJP will contest all 224 assembly seats: Yeddyurappa

Raichur(PTI): Former Karnataka Chief Minister B S Yeddyurappa today said Karnataka Janata Party (KJP), which he is expected to lead after parting ways with BJP, will contest all 224 seats in the state assembly elections due early next year.

“I will field KJP candidates in all 224 seats in the next assembly elections,” the disgruntled BJP leader told reporters at Mantralaya, some 70 kms from here.

Yeddyurappa, who has announced his resolve to quit BJP this month-end, said he was confident of his party reaping rich dividends in the next assembly polls as regional parties were playing a bigger role in the country’s politics.

Yeddyurappa had last week installed his loyalist V Dhananjaya Kumar as KJP chief. The party is expected to be formally launched at a rally at Haveri on December 9.

Yeddyurappa ruled out alliance with JD(S) and Congress in future elections but would have talks with farmers’ bodies and other organisations for creating an impact in the polls.

Replying to a question, Yeddyurappa said though the Lokayukta report had not indicted him in illegal mining scam, he was forced to resign becuase party state President K S Eshwarappa and other leaders had sent a “wrong” message to BJP central leaders.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>