Home / News / Mallya, Paswan, Rudy win Rajya Sabha seats

Mallya, Paswan, Rudy win Rajya Sabha seats

Patna: Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) supremo Ram Vilas Paswan and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Rajeev Pratap Rudy on Thursday won their respective Rajya Sabha seats from Bihar. Liquor baron Vijay Mallya also won the Rajya Sabha seat from Karnataka with the support of the Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S).

It has been reported that the BJP and its partner Janata Dal-United (JD-U) are optimistic about winning three seats, while the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) and LJP appear confident of winning both the seats they are contesting.

The RJD-LJP alliance has the support of 68 MLAs against the requirement of 76 to ensure victory for both of its nominees.

The JD-U and BJP have 135 legislators. It has 21 surplus votes, over the 114 required to ensure the victory of its three nominees.

Polling is on for the 18 Rajya Sabha seats in Bihar, Rajasthan, Karnataka, Orissa and Jharkhand.

Venkaiah Naidu, Oscar Fernandes and Ayanur Manjunath also won Rajya Sabha elections from Karnataka.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>