Home / News / Obama third consecutive president to retain office

Obama third consecutive president to retain office

Washington(IANS): Barack Obama is the third consecutive president of the US to retain office after his predecessors George W. Bush and Bill Clinton.

Obama became the only African American to hold the office of president in 2009 and he has now defeated Republican Mitt Romney to get a second term in the White House.

His predecessor George W. Bush served as US president from 2001 to 2009.

William J. Clinton, better known as Bill Clinton, became president in 1993 and went on to retain his office till 2001.

Before him, George H.W. Bush had a single term from 1989-93.

His predecessor Ronald Reagan won in 1981 and then retained the presidentship, with his term ending in 1989.

Three presidents before him – James Carter 1977-81, Gerald R. Ford 1974-77 and Richard M. Nixon 1969-74 – served single terms.

The norm is that no US president serves more than two terms.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>