Home / sports / Dhoni elects to bowl in Tendulkar’s farewell Test

Dhoni elects to bowl in Tendulkar’s farewell Test

Mumbai (PTI): Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the toss and elected to bowl against the West Indies in the second and final cricket Test after which veteran batsman Sachin Tendulkar will bid adieu to the game.

“To the disappointment of the fans, we will be bowling first,” said Dhoni after spinning a specially minted coin to commemorate Tendulkar’s 200th and final Test.

The Indian captain’s decision invited boos from the crowd at the Wankhede stadium.As for the team list, India are unchanged for the historic match, while West Indies have made two changes.

The visiting team has brought in Narsingh Deonarine and Shannon Gabriel into the playing XI.

BCCI President N Srinivasan accompanied the two captains to the toss and presented the coin, which had Tendulkar’s image embossed on one side.


India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Murali Vijay, Cheteshwar Pujara, Sachin Tendulkar, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Pragyan Ojha.

West Indies: Darren Sammy (capt), Chris Gayle, Kieran Powell, Darren Bravo, Marlon Samuels, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Dinesh Ramdin, Shane Shillingford, Narsingh Deonarine, Shannon Gabriel, Tino Best.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>