Home / sports / Gavaskar dropped from IPL Governing Council

Gavaskar dropped from IPL Governing Council

Mumbai: Chirayu Amin has been appointed as the new chairman of the Indian Premier
League while former cricketer Sunil Gavaskar has been dropped from the IPL Governing Council, an announcement that has been made after BCCI’s Annual General Meeting (AGM) here on Wednesday.

While Gavaskar has been dropped from the council, Ravi Shastri and MAK Pataudi have been retained with Anurag Thakur and Ranjeeb Biswal being the new inclusions.

In the meeting, BCCI also decided to withdraw its suit against Jagmohan Dalmiya in Bombay High Court and also revoked the expulsion imposed on him in 2006.

The meeting was called to finally put an end to Lalit Modi’s reign and bring in Rajiv Shukla to replace him as the vice-president from the Central Zone.

As per reports, Modi, who was suspended as the IPL chairman due to allegations of financial irregularities in the cash rich T20 league, will cease to hold any post within the BCCI or IPL with effect from Wednesday.

As a result of Modi’s ouster, the IPL Governing Council will be reconstituted and as per sources, five members would be appointed by the AGM along for the same. the five-membered team will include two ex-cricketers while all the principal office bearers of the Board will be its ex-officio members.

Through an amendment to its memorandum of rules and regulations, which is to be done at the AGM, the BCCI is also set to bring the IPL Governing Council’s tenure to one year like all its other sub-committees.

The alleged discrepancy in the accounts of IPL3 held in March-April this year would also be placed before the AGM.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>