Home / News / IPL 4: Only twelve players retained by teams

IPL 4: Only twelve players retained by teams

New Delhi: With an eye to the next year’s players’ auction, the eight teams that participated in the last three season of the Indian Premier League retained only twelve players altogether.

The deadline to retain four ‘marquee’ players by various franchisees ended on Wednesday night and only Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings retained four players each, while Rajasthan Royals, who breathed a sigh of relief after their termination from the league was stayed by an independent arbitrator, clang to their Australian captain Shane Warne and Shane Watson.

Deccan Chargers, Kings XI Punjab and Kolkata Knight Riders, in an attempt to start the new season afresh, did not retain any player of their current squads.

In a surprising move, Royal Challengers Bangalore held back only Virat Kohli when they could have also retained Rahul Dravid and Anil Kumble.

Delhi Daredevils also kept only Virender Sehwag for the next three seasons, putting Gautam Gambhir and other budding cricketer up for grabs.

Twelve players who were retained by their franchisees are:

Chennai Super Kings: MS Dhoni, Suresh Raina, Murali Vijay and Albie Morkel

Mumbai Indians: Sachin Tendulkar, Harbhajan Singh, Kieron Pollard, Lasith Malinga

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli

Delhi Daredevils: Virender Sehwag

Rajasthan Royals: Shane Warne and Shane Watson

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>